Most Yummilicious taste in the World: Honey

I have a craving for honey, and its curious how it started with Patty’s casual question over the cubicle (that’s our style at work), “eh what do you usually have for breakfast?”

I love it when people ask me breakfast questions. I just think it is so gorgeously sincere! When you ask me about what I’d like for breakfast, is like asking an intimate question to really get to know me, because breakfast is a sacred time for many.

 

For night owls, breakfast is spent in deep knock-out slumber on the bed; a private escape to dreams.

For morning people like me, breakfast is a world of amazing possibilities: milk? cereal? cookies? dunk them in tea? or hot chocolate? maybe bread? maybe bread with butter? and even honey?

 

Honey. Oh boy. When I die, drench me in honey. It is a sure way to get into heaven…

I can’t adequately describe how this sticky chewy, aromatic substance is in so many ways my best mealtime companion. It IS sacred. Sigh. The love goes on.

 

Anyway, the reason why I am writing is this: I just returned from a holiday to India, and I have so many thoughts and feelings inside me.

1. I can’t believe I spent a good 7 days without spam-checking my iPhone. I did it! I was dropped from 3G for a good week, with no good reception and no way of accessing Facebook and whatsapp on the move and it has only done me good. Like SO MUCH good. Gone were the times of checking incessantly for messages that would not be coming in anyway, or mindlessly flicking the screen looking for nothing. Instead, i set my gaze to the beautiful (and sometimes hectic) surroundings, and try to drown myself in all the colors and sounds.

Did you know India is beautiful? Some things I loved were the way cows and little goats frolicked in the sunny streets with no care, like regular pets. I loved the traditional garbs of the Indian women, I loved the occasional spectacular saris and punjabi outfits gracing the streets. I love the street hawkers, and the big juicy fruits they peddled only for a few rupees.

 

2. I enjoyed being free. During my entire trip, the only object I pursued was pleasure. I was completely at leisure to do what I want to do when I want to do it. I could make a choice to stuff myself with masala, or laze out in the sun and contemplate life. I could read, listen to my music, or write in my diary.  I didn’t check my emails, and I didn’t get in touch with anyone who was not around me. I had to make conversations with my travel buddies, and I do so when i felt like it. In the end, we knew each other so much better than we ever could, and the friendships I’ve made in the easy times are things I will cherish forever.

 

3. My senses were invigorated by immense beauty. I had the chance to visit the Big Temple in Thanjavur, the scale of the temple and its beauty awed me. I was in Kodaikanal, and the mountainous scenes, steep cliffs and rocks were so gorgeous. I find myself in love again.

 

 

The funny thing is that to me, no matter now beautiful are the things I see, man made or natural, they all don’t come close to the beauty of relationships. One of the biggest takeaway I have out of my India trip is the message that: live your life to the utmost every single minute.

I don’t mean you have to now rush like a mad thing trying to accomplish something every second. In fact I mean the opposite. I mean that we can try to be at peace with ourselves, and still our mind to concentrate on the present, because each moment is different, and if you are always living in the future or for the past, you are just wasting your time away.

I mean that we should be deeply conscious of our existence and be grateful for that. I mean that each day we can perhaps come closer to understanding ourselves and drawing our full potential, and enjoy the process of growing and learning. We are not perfect, and the last thing to do is to try to be someone else just to be perfect. But how about being the best of me? I think that’s a worthy pursuit for this life.

And ironically as it sounds, I see that the best way to be perfectly us, is to think about others. We have come a full circle back down to relationships. The act of giving something good and pleasing to someone else, so that both parties can share something beautiful, a kind of grace that is invisible and intangible.

I don’t know, but I truly think that we are born to be in relationships with each other. A single person alone is nothing much, what joy can be derived out of enjoying nature’s beauty by oneself? We are all mirrors for each other, what we do to others define ourselves.

What a heavy lessons for such a light-hearted holiday huh! I don’t know what’s gotten to me. My sore throat must be burning up my head. Time to snuggle (:

Tagged , ,

Say something:

