GJB: Girls Jump Boracay/ 3rd Letter from a Filipina Island

BORACAY, 21DEC — I didn’t say much on the previous day, and the second half of today, because we basically spent it doing nothing at the beach. It wasn’t so bad, just that I am a fidgety thing and can’t sit still in the hot hot sun for long! Sweaty plastic chairs and me don’t go together. I went into the water a lot; it was really, really clear! I could see schools of fishes swimming about. I could see all the way to the sandy sea bed, which makes beautiful wave patterns. The water was so cooling that it freshens anyone up instantly!

But the most brilliant part of the day is definitely from 5pm onwards. I could not describe how beautiful the sunsets were. It was gold, red, purple, orange and blue at the same time. And each sunset is different. Yesterday it was a rich lustrous purple that filled the sky.

But today, I think the sunset is much more beautiful. It could be because of the two cute little girls playing sand by the shore that makes the beach scene much more picture perfect, it could be because we had the best seat in the house for a full-blown sunset view, or it could simply be because it just was.

  

The sunset today was orange. A burning, fierce orange gold, with a tinge of flaming pink at the edge. The curious thing was that a slash of blue-green penetrated the sky right where it should have been the deepest orange. The shocking blend created what I called a paddle pop effect: creamy, orange, purple, gold, gold, orange, orange, ORANGE SKY.

My goodness. After Boracay I see that there are so many more sunsets I have to catch in this lifetime, in different parts of the world. Thank you God for this beauty.

Tagged , , , , ,

Say something:

