saved by a doc

I was saved by a doc today!

The best medicine is genuine advice, and the best doctor is a good friend (:

my dearest anonymous friend who is friendly even with the Llamas arranged for a swim and dinner together just tonight. My Llama friend is a physician in training who was about to begin her work attachment. She is extremely passionate about her would-be profession, and would stick a needle in almost anything. (You know how the art of acupuncture plays a big part in traditional Chinese medicine). She loves exercising her professional judgment on seemingly mundane subject matters as well (food, lifestyle, appearances, fashion) which it is funny most of the time.

But what really got to me happened today over dinner. She finished first, and was lounging in my seat. With nothing better to do she started to observe me closely.

”You look very tired. Your complexion is ashy,’ she remarked critically. ‘Are you very exhausted?’ I said no I wasn’t, and it was really because I didn’t have my make up on. She insisted that it wasn’t just the make up, and proceeded to investigate the matter (I suspect it was part of her training.):

‘Have you been sleeping late?’ (no.) ‘Is it your make up?’ (I wear very little.) ‘Do you use make up remover?’ (I try.) ‘You know you should? It is really difficult to get rid of make up without a proper remover. And they clog your pores when they are not properly removed. There is quite a lot of acne along the side of your face.’ (That’s right.) ‘You know that is due to perspiration. You should wipe those away.’ (I don’t usually have tissue.) ‘You need tissue. Don’t you wipe your mouth after meals?’ (I always borrow them off my colleagues.) ‘You need some on your own to wipe off your perspiration. You don’t dry your hair well after showers.’ (I like to let them dry naturally.) ‘You should keep your hair and face dry and clean. Water traps dust.’ (Oh.) ‘You know it is alright to be messy if you want to, but hygiene is the most important.’ (Oh.)

I was slightly embarrassed but incredibly amused. I was not angry; in fact I was surprised that Llama friend was so candid! Moreover she honestly wanted me to be well; how sweet is that! How often do you have friends who speak so plainly to you, and who is so genuine about her opinions? I mean because they are constructive, it will only serve make me better! Though it was quite uncomfortable feeling like a specimen in the petri dish.

So now I am properly ashamed, and I promised to dry myself properly and wipe my perspiration off my face, carry more tissue around and use a proper makeup remover. But of course as any self-respecting girl I stood my stand on other matters that were important. She had asked before she left:

‘Anyway do you find your skirt a little short for work?’

(Yes I do and no I don’t care.)

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “saved by a doc

  1. Joel Yuen says:

    Llama is really Llama at heart;) Maybe that’s why she is so passionate about being a Llama. One can’t hide in a different coat. She truly has fur;)

Say something:

